PIA Bldg, Visayas Ave, Diliman,  
Official website: http://www.pia.gov.ph/
1 viewer like Philippine Information Agency
connect now
Salceda reelected unopposed as Bicol RDC chair
LEGAZPI CITY, Albay  ·  
By Sally A. Atento
posted 8-Sep-2013  ·  

Albay Governor Joey Sarte Salceda has been reelected unopposed for a third term as chairperson of the Bicol Regional Development Council (RDC) during the full council meeting this morning at the  National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) conference room in Barangay Arimbay here.


Salceda, representing the government sector, was nominated by Department of Tourism Bicol director Maria Ravanilla.


Mayor John Bongat of Naga City was nominated but was not around.


Under the RDC rules, an absentee official is not qualified for inclusion in the list of nominees.  


Jose Medina Jr of Masbate and Benigno Elevado of Camarine Norte, representing the private sector, were elected as co-chairs.


Although RDC chairs and co-chairs are voted at the regional level, their names will be forwarded to the NEDA director general to be submitted to the president for approval and formal appointment pursuant to Executive Order No. 325.


The EO also states that if the chairperman is selected from the government sector, the co-chair will be from the private sector and vice-versa.


In the Bicol region, the RDC government sector is composed of six governors, seven city mayors, two capital town mayors, six presidents of the provincial leagues of mayors and 23 regional directors of national government agencies.


The private sector on the other hand have 15 private sector representatives (PSRs) comprised of 12 geographic representatives (two per province), two basic sector representatives and one labor sector representative.


The geographic representatives in the region selected on August 23 this year are Rev Fr. Ramoncito Segubiense and Mr. Romeo Tan for Albay, Salve Alemania Cadag and Engr. Solomon Chi Ngo for Camarines Sur and Ramon Bravo and Jose Medina Jr. for Masbate.


Shirley Torrecampo-Bolaños and Aurora Chavez-de Guzman represented Sorsogon.


The only two qualified PSR nominees for Camarines Norte and Catanduanes are Edgar Dasco and Benigno Elevado and Alfredo Auino and Fernan Gianan respectively.


The RDC is the primary institution designated to set the direction of economic and social development of the region from which regional efforts shall be coordinated.


It is created in all regions in the country to be an effective institution responsible for ensuring sustainable, participatory and equitable development. (SAA/PIA5-Albay)

- See more at: http://news.pia.gov.ph/index.php?article=2571378451993#sthash.yMd5EcWH.dpuf
New to ugnayan?
leave a comment, you need to connect.
Connect thru
ugnayan © 2020
29 visitors